Everything You Should Know About Eight-Pointed Stars

The eight-pointed stars appears in traditions from many different cultures around the world. These cultures are Hinduism, Buddhism, Gnostics, Egyptian, Judeo-Christian Babylonian, Wiccans, etc. 

RELATED: Tree of Life Meaning Through 11 Cultures

An eight-pointed star represents, in general, encouragement to open our eyes and see beyond the material world to spiritual qualities. Learn more about the meaning of eight-pointed stars in the sections below.

eight-pointed stars

Eight lines signify the four corners of space and time and are associated with different meanings in different cultures.

Eight-Pointed Star in Hinduism – The Star of Lakshmi

Hindus believe that Lakshmi is the goddess of love, prosperity, beauty, joy, fortune, and wealth. Thus, Star of Lakshmi, one of Hinduism’s principal feminine deities represents it.

The eight emanations of Lakshmi, also known as the eight forms of wealth of Lakshmi, are represented by the 8-pointed star. These are health, family, material wealth, nourishment, endless prosperity, victory, patience, knowledge, and the ability to transport.

Buddhism – The Dharma Wheel

Buddhists utilize an eight-spoked wheel to symbolize the Eightfold Path taught by the Buddha, which teaches that the key to escape suffering is to release attachments.

RELATED: Angel Number 69 Meaning: A Call To Leave Your Attachments

The eight-spoked Dharma wheel is an essential component of Buddhist symbolism as one of the eight fortunate symbols of Buddhism.

Dharma Wheel

To release yourself from worldly attachments and sorrows, you must follow the eightfold path. Right intention, awareness, concentration, action, view, right living, right effort, and right speech are examples.

RELATED: Angel Number 1020 Meaning: A Positive Change To Succeed In Life


Valentinus, a second-century Gnostic, wrote about his idea of the Ogdoad, which consists of four female and four male pairings of fundamental principles. Abyss and Silence brought Truth and Mind first, which then produced Word and Life, and eventually Man and Church.

Several esotericists nowadays have tapped into numerous Ogdoad concepts.

Eight-Pointed Star in Egypt

Old Kingdom Egyptians recognized eight deities, four female and four male, the female bearing feminine forms of the male names: Amun, Amunet, Nu, Nanet, Huh, Hauhet, Kuk, and Kauket. Each pair represents the primal force, air, water, infinity, and darkness. Together they construct the sun god Ra and the world.


Number eight frequently represents beginnings, salvation, resurrection, and super abundance. Hence, this may have something to do with the fact that seven is several competitions.

RELATED: A New You – 7 Crystals To Help You Have The New Beginning You’ve Always Wanted

Moreover, the eighth is the first day of a new seven-day week, and a Jewish child enters God’s Covenant by circumcision on the eighth day of life.

Babylonian – The Goddess Ishtar

An eight-pointed starburst in Babylonian symbolism, symbolizes the goddess Ishtar which is related to planet Venus. However, today, some individuals confuse the Greek Aphrodite with Ishtar, whom the Romans identified with Venus. Ishtar also represents fertility and battle, while both goddesses are associated with lust and sensuality.

RELATED: Alchemy Symbol – 23 Most Common And Everything You Need to Know

Wiccan Wheel of The Year

Wiccans express their annual cycle of holidays with a pointed star or a circle with eight spokes.

Each star point signifies a major celebration known as a sabbat, such as Ostara, Mabon, Beltane, Litha, Imbolg, Lughnasadh, Samhain, and Yule.

Native Americans And The Hope Symbol

In Native America, they make use of geometric representations of natural phenomena, celestial bodies, and animal designs as symbols. For example, an 8-pointed star with two circles, one in the center and the other surrounding it, is a Native American symbol representing optimism and direction. Further, number eight is an important one in terms of achieving balance.

eight-pointed stars

As with certain other Native American symbols, the outer circle represents protection, while the star points are thought to represent the four cardinal points or four elements and the solstices and equinoxes and summer and winter.

Clearly, the Indians from Native America referred to this Hope symbol as Star Knowledge.

The Eight-Pointed Stars In Islam

The 8-pointed stars, like 5-pointed and 6-pointed stars, are usual symbols in Islamic culture.

The origin of this shape is related to the Seal of Solomon in Judaism. Furthermore, interpreted as the “seal of prophets”, is what the khatam known for.

eight-pointed stars
Photo by RODNAE Productions from Pexels

On the Day of Judgement, the eight angels who will surround Allah’s throne, are what the eight points of the star represents.

In addition, they make use of it to help people learn and recite the Quran. Also known as the Rub-el-Hizb when it looks like two conjoining squares with a circle in the center.

Overlapping Squares – Yin and Yang

Representing duality, like yin and yang, spiritual and material, and male and female. Therefore, the overlapping squares octagrams, are often make use of. The physical world is commonly associated with squares: four cardinal directions, four components, etc. When used together, they can refer to both positive and negative aspects of the four elements, such as balancing them.

RELATED: Find Your Inner Balance – 15 Beautiful Crystals For Balance

What Does Traditional Compass Mark represent?

The ‘rose’ in the center of the traditional compass has 8 points, four main points, and four minor ones. Thus, this is the most common use of an Octagram. Moreover, eight-pointed stars are related with the number 8.

eight-pointed stars

Its basic meaning is that it consists of two sets of four and that higher forces or natural laws regulate the lower realms of matter, similar to regulating the laws of physics in the lower realms.

What is The Chaos Star?

The chaos star is another modern form of the 8-pointed star, also known as the Chaos Cross, the Star of Discord, the Symbol of Eight, the Arms of Chaos, and the Arrows of Chaos. This star features eight points coming from a central point.

It was invented by Michael Moorcock, a well-known fantasy and science-fiction author, intended to symbolize chaos and potential in any form or direction.

The chaos star, which is still employed in some occult activities today, has made its way into mainstream culture and is a part of RPG games such as the Warhammer and Warhammer 40,000 series.

Please consider the following video if you want to expand your knowledge further.

 8 pointed Star Meaning, The Symbolism And Origins Of The Octagram Video


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *